Designer Tea & Making it Through Living at School

Everyone has their addiction that gets them through the day. Some of you nasties smoke, others hit the bar, some take caffeine pills or dose yourselves with 5 coffees a day (guilty), and others like to drink lots of tea. Not just any tea though; David’s Tea.

Ever since I came back to Montreal, I’ve developed this insane obsession with tea. I used to visit David’s Tea casually, like when I’d walk by, or in the summer when I wanted something iced that wouldn’t be 500 calories (cough, Starbucks). It seems that the more you go, the more adventurous you get.

When I’m at Starbucks, it’s a Grande Nonfat Cappuccino ALL THE TIME. When I go to David’s Tea, though, I’m constantly trying new things to find my favourites. The amazing part is that there’s so much selection to choose from, and their swag is infinitely better than any other place’s. Where else would entice me to buy a mug set? Am I 80? For real though, they’re beautiful mugs.

So for the holiday season and just general life, I want to share which amazing teas have been getting me through my 12 hour days at school, and my decaf bedtime ritual teas.

I’ve mentioned my Moroccan heritage somewhere on this blog before, but mint tea represents more than just a drink for me, it reminds me of my grandmother. She makes the best Moroccan mint tea ever, and serves it in the type of glass you see above. It’s an awesome digestif for after a meal, or to just relax before bed. This one above is amazing because it’s organic and also has a very distinct and refreshing taste.

I can’t pick a favourite, but this winter collection Chocolate Chili Chai tea would be top 3. I’m a huge fan of chocolate teas; partially because they cut my chocolate cravings and also because they’re just amazing. The mix of chocolate with chai and a little piquant makes for an excellent caffeinated black tea that’s a great replacement for coffee during the day.

This was the last tea I had in-store and I don’t know if the girl heard me or not about not putting any sweetener, but when I tasted it, I couldn’t believe I was drinking tea. I’ll have to do some more investigating, but it actually tasted creamy, refreshingly minty, and very different. It’s one of the most popular teas of the season, and I can now see why!

Forever Nuts and I go way back. As one of the first teas I’ve ever tried from David’s Tea, I was astonished by how this mix of flavours works so well. It’s nutty, obviously, but the drink turns a very nice pink because of the dried beets inside. I know what you’re thinking, beets are disgusting, but in here they actually work! Caffeine free, this herbal tea is a must-try.

I find that with a lot of teas, they smell better and stronger than they actually taste, which is rather deceiving. Mamma Mia is amazing because if you let it steep, it’s extremely flavourful. It’s also an herbal tea, but seriously one of the most distinct and potent flavours I’ve tried. Will definitely purchase again!

A lot of people find black tea to be too strong, so this rooibos tea embodies my two favourite flavours (chocolate and mint) without the underlying strength of black tea. Hence, it’s very refreshing and tasty. When I come home at 10pm and I want a snack, but know there’s no real point in eating before bed, I grab this and I’m satisfied.

The one that started my love affair with David’s Tea. Read my Lips is the first tea I ever tried and I was immediately sold on the brand. Again, theres mint and chocolate, but really funny little red hot lips that add cinnamon to the mix in a black tea. Sometimes when you make tea, the flavour varies from time to time depending on the concentration, but Read my Lips is always bang on with flavour. It’s also available in the very practical pre-packaged sachets below.

As you’ve probably noticed, I like my tea bittersweet. Whenever I bring Toasted Marshmallow to the library in my Timolino tumbler, everyone stares in my direction because it literally smells up the room and makes people crave whatever I’m having. It’s a caffeinated black tea, the marshmallows melt for a little something sweet, and it’s cinnamon taste is unreal. Definitely one of my favourites.

This is probably the coolest advent calendar I’ve ever seen, and a great way to try new teas without committing to buying a whole cup or baggie. For the 24 days leading up to Christmas Eve, you can try a new tea for each day and remember your favourites. I love this concept because it would force me to try teas I would never try in stores. Screw chocolate, tea is my new indulgence.

I literally don’t go anywhere without my Timolino. Before discovering this tumbler, I would never bring hot beverages anywhere. They’re a pain to carry, and I really don’t feel like having them leak all over my laptop. The store guaranteed me, however, that the Timolino doesn’t leak at all (true) and it has a built in infuser, and also a secret compartment for a second dose of tea. It’s actually amazing!

For some reason these mugs make me feel so earthy. They’re panted in relaxing hues and they just feel sturdy and trendy at the same time. They were originally $40 for the set, but have come down to half price. They’re an incredible holiday gift for the coffee/tea lover.

Want more servings for cheaper and less mess? If you like any of these flavours, you’re in luck. These 25 packs are only $9.50 and last a lot longer, in my opinion, than a tin of 100g that would cost you around $15. I hope they start making more of these.

So there you have my favourite picks for the season and for the home/student life. If you’re not sure what you like, the staff at most locations are very helpful and patient with you, which is a nice change!

Walk into the store, and I dare you to walk out empty-handed. It’s literally impossible because there are so many choices and amazing accessories for the home.

Sippin’ on something strong,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Designer Tea & Making it Through Living at School

  1. michystock says:

    K i love forever nuts its the BEST TEA EVER and read my lips is amazing but im getting sick of it. I am going to buy myself this tea infuser thing u have it looks amazing. good post chels!! xox

  2. Hayley Dobson says:

    Totally agree with this post except for one thing- BEETS ARE DELICIOUS! But seriously tea is my life.

  3. Sakeisha - SAF says:

    OKAY forever nuts is what started my love for teas other than your basic herbals.

    Out of all the descriptions, the one that stood out the most (and the one i shall be trying asap) is cocomint cream. It sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

