FRAMED: THE DEBUT

I’ve previously written about my excitement for my clothing’s debut in FRAMED Fashion Show, a production hosted by jnet, which took place in Ottawa last night; but now is the final reveal. I provided the committee with 12 original pieces, of which they chose 7, to completely rock in an awesome display of Ottawa’s local talent.

The show was comprised of clothing from 8 stores/designers, most of which were an eclectic mix of stores around the area, including up and coming jewelry boutiques. Most notably, True Bijoux, a store that I’ve also written about on this blog for its unique and fresh take on costume jewelry. I felt completely honoured to have been able to partake in this event by supplying my own clothing designs for a cause, The Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation and iPromise, a division of MADD.

My segment of the show was different from the rest, to my surprise, because as soon as Jay Z’s “Empire State of Mind” came on, the girls started dancing on the runway the way that I would at a club. It was an amazing and refreshing take on a fashion show, and I loved every second of it! But seriously, could anything have been more me?

So, as promised, here are some images of Chelsea Pascal’s first debut:

The Feather Trimmed Vest:

I particularly love this vest because it was probably the most impulsive piece I’ve ever created. I was cleaning through my closet one day and noticed I skirt that I had never worn. I had bought it because of the feathers, but the skirt itself was nasty. I ripped the thing apart and took out the feather trim, looked over at the plain black vest I had hanging, and just put 2 and 2 together. It is amazing!

The Velvet Bodysuit with Studded Epaulettes and Studded Shorts:

Jewelry by True Bijoux.

This bodysuit was a late addition to my growing collection, but I’m surprised the idea hadn’t struck me before the show was nearing. It’s now one of my favourite pieces I own, and I’ll definitely be rockin’ it out on the town sometime soon. Sam, the brains behind the execution of FRAMED, completely blew me away when she came out dancing in this number. Owned it!

The Blazer with Studded Lapels and Studded Gloves:

Not too shabby for my first piece ever made, right? This blazer took about 4 hours by hand and is comprised of over 150 individually placed studs. It looked amazing paired with the lace dress this model was wearing, and the studded gloves to match.

The Turban and Studded Jean Shorts:

All the way to the right are my jean shorts that are studded at the back, and a turban with golden studs. There’s no picture with a closer look, so ones of me will have to suffice:

Kudos to any girl who can confidently rock a turban!

And finally, those who made it possible for me to have the confidence  to share my designs, there to support me in person at the show:

Some girl threatened to murder me at the show… I think it was because she was jealous of this awesome red blazer and my good looking friends. It’s ok though, I’d kill for fashion too!

Janelle is becoming a regular feature on this blog, it appears. She’s wearing one of my studded tops with miniature golden studs, and jewelry to match from True Bijoux. The cuff and the necklace go so nicely with the rest of the outfit.

Thank you girls, for an incredible night!

When in doubt: Wear Red.

Livin’ the Dream,

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

