Big Things Poppin’

Wow, has it been forever or what? I just got back from Europe, which is an entire blog in itself once I decide to sift through the best outfits, but I have something even bigger than that going on; A FASHION SHOW!

FRAMED will take place Saturday, September 29 at Mansion Nightclub in Ottawa. The show will benefit the Ottawa Cancer Society and iPromise, a campaign that partners with MADD. The show, presented by Arnon Corporation and jnet, will showcase some local talent, so I can’t wait to see what/who else is in store for us all! ¬†Tickets are available here if you want to support and donate!

 

So, a lot of you may know that I don’t take this hobby of mine too seriously, and others may think that it’s just a pretty cool passion that’s not going to go anywhere. Well, regardless of what happens, I think it’s important to take time out of a busy schedule to do something you absolutely and purely love to do. For me, that’s taking clothes I already have and embellishing them to create new and more creative designs.

Sometimes I’ll take a piece apart, like when I ripped apart a skirt that had feather trim all around its bottom so that I could embellish a vest with it. Other times I’ll just take different studs and start studding away. For me, it’s all really out of spontaneity.
I was walking in Toronto while my friend Sarah, with whom I was staying, was at work. I was actually going to pick up some ginger for the meal we were going to cook for dinner, and I stumbled upon an army supply store. I walked in and checked it out, and I found this really cool army jacket for $10. The store owner told me he had sold 50 that day, and they were just flying off the racks. So, I bought it. Not with the intention that I’d look super cool in my new army gear, but that camo and the military look are pretty in style this fall, so why not work some magic on it? I think it looks pretty badass.

And Michael will kill me for posting this but, it’s equally versatile for a metro man, I think…even though it’s not quite his style. Sorry dude.

 

I have some other pieces I haven’t put up here yet, so I’ll show a few.

 

Nothing like a good shoulder to cry on, right?

Turban times.

For the rest, you’ll have to purchase tickets to what’s sure to be an excellent showcase of creativity, talent, and dedication.

For now, I’m in the market for a name for all these clothes. CHELSEASWAG is my blog’s name, but it definitely doesn’t suit a clothing line.

Big things poppin’

CP

 

 

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big Things Poppin’

  1. Pingback: FRAMED: THE DEBUT | chelseaswag

Leave a Reply

