Inspired by Jef: For the Homies

It’s been over a year that I’ve been blogging, but I’ve failed to cater to my underground audience: the men. These days it takes a while to get inspired, but after watching the season finale of The Bachelorette, I’ve decided that Jef doesn’t only have the perfect ingredients suited for the husband and father role; he’s also the prime example of metrosexual male fashionisto.

From minute 1 of the show, Jef Holm epitomized the full meaning of swag. He was confident, he dressed well, his hair had some serious flow, and well, he’s not the conventional type who wins this kind of thing, but it goes to show how being your own person pays off.

As I was always a fan of his signature style, he completely sealed the deal for me (and Emily) with his final outfit.

Unconventionally dressed Jef proposed in a navy blue tailored suit, black tie, crisp white shirt, and luxurious looking brown shoes and belt to match. Most guys would stick with black, but not Jef!

So what is it about this wannabe bad boy that is so attractive? Personally, I think it’s a combination of not giving a mother-eff what anyone thinks about his metrosexual style, which combines an awesome haircut and the usual skinny jeans (coloured at times), and confidence that falls just short of arrogance (his best accessory).

So how do guys capture this look without breaking the confines of their own personal style? Well, let’s start with Zara Man.

Most of us don’t have the money to adorn ourselves in Gucci, Prada, and Armani (all three of whom excel in men’s tailoring), so understandably people go to stores where they can buy a variety of suits and shirts for a reasonable price. While Zara’s quality is sometimes questionable to me, I feel that their style for men is right on point, and that you get what you pay for. The average pant will likely be around $80.00 and will last a while. The cut is rather slim-fit, but a lot of guys can work with it.

What would Jef-with-one-f wear if he walked into Zara, then? Here are my picks for the homies with style.

Blazers with a slim fit, contrasting lapels and pockets, and with a sleek satiny finish are definitely a staple in a metro-man’s wardrobe. These can be worn to work with a dress shirt, or dressed down with a t-shirt for a more casual vibe.

Cotton and linen blazers take the work appropriate blazer and make it versatile. Also, small details like piping really make a difference. I was sitting on the bus yesterday and looking at the two men in front of me. One was wearing a tailored suit that looked like it would be from Zara, and the other like it would be from Moore’s. Instantly, I could tell which fabric was higher quality just by the stitching at the shoulders. The ‘Moore’s’ suit was puffy around the shoulders and the ‘Zara’ one looked like it had been tailored to fit the better dressed man. The fabric was shinier and kept together too, as opposed to the cheaper suit where I could see the fibers stretching.

I was shopping with one of my brothers around this time last year, and I lured him into Zara, as he was a little turned off by the European style. My brother has a small waist, though, and it seemed that every single item of clothing he  tried fit him perfectly. He tried on this one pair of jeans that had sandy brown leather suspenders attached to them, but unfortunately he thought it was too much.

Zara’s jeans are amazing and often have smaller leather embellishments or lots of pockets. The three pairs of trousers above are all unique because they either have a satin finish, some embellishment, or come in a variety of colours that make one’s wardrobe versatile. They’re also super chic and don’t look grungy, which I find a lot of the male species struggles with on a daily basis (outside the office). If Zara doesn’t fit well, I find Buffalo also has great jeans for men.

You can tell how confident a person is by the way they walk, but what about by what they choose to walk in? I think that a person’s shoe choice is directly related to how adventurous they want to be with their style. That doesn’t really mean people who wear plain shoes aren’t adventurous, but there are subtle details that can make all the difference in a shoe.

For example, the colour of the perforated oxfords on the left (Soooo Jef) is amazing. The shoe is detailed but not too over-the-top, and the light shade of brown can be paired with tons of different coloured pants. The middle sneaker shoe is perfect for any type of jean, and the oxford with the contrasting sole (right), is an awesome casual alternative to a dress shoe. Note to the men out there, the first thing a girl might look at are your shoes. I used to judge people based on them when I was  younger, #sorrynotsorry.

With fall coming, keeping the heat in won’t suffice with just your chest hair. There is nothing more attractive than a man who can pull of a sweater vest or a cardigan, however. I love this look for men, and the contrasting piping and lines earn extra bonus points. I especially love the subtle contrast of grey and black stripes, as seen on the right. These three are infinitely better alternatives to the American Apparel classic zipper sweater, or some other grungy piece of cotton that makes you look like you’ve packed on the winter 10 even before you have. Go with these more fitted sweaters instead of buying something slouchier.

And finally, what is more Jef than these bow ties? When I think of bow ties I usually think of a wedding or a fancy affair. Lately, however, they’ve become a staple in every metro man’s closet. Now, I will say that American Apparel does have a great variety of bow ties, and even some more casual ones than these that can be worn every day.

The beautiful thing about Zara is that their clothing is moderately priced to start with, and then when the store goes on sale (like right now), you can pick up items for ridiculously cheap!

So here’s a little manspiration for the day: Jef Holm’s got swag and he’s not afraid to let us know about it!

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

