Montreal, in Style.

As Whitney and I ventured down Crescent Street after an incredible night at Koko with some old friends, we discussed our travel plans for the summer. We decided to have a French-style breakfast at my favourite cafe of all time: Nespresso. It’s a European cafe that fits nicely into Downtown Montreal, and the cute little patio is incredible for the fresh air you need after a wild night on the town.

So what do we get? We both try to be relatively health conscious, but after a night out, you have to succumb to your cravings…and I was really good about not getting drunken poutine at 3am.
We started with Crepes Suzette, which are thin crepes with candied orange peel and lemon. Was delish!

Although Whitney’s not a coffee drinker, I told her that their Iced Caffe was a must…she loved it, obvy. I stuck with my plain unsweetened Iced Capuccino.
Backing up to our discussion about upcoming travel plans, we both agreed on one thing; if you’re going to travel to Europe, you cannot stop yourself from enjoying everything about the places you visit. That, of course, includes diving into the culture’s cuisine and trying new things. This was basically Whitney’s first time in Montreal, so she had to experience in the French way, but not the Quebecer way… I don’t do that. Still hungry, we shared some brioche with fresh raspberry and blueberry jams, and butter. Why did I never try this before?

If my personal trainer sees this, I’ll be in trouble.

So backtracking yet again to the amazing night before the foodie fiesta, we went to Koko, a club attached to Montreal’s Opus Hotel. I’ve never been there before because my friends and I are pretty impatient when it comes to waiting in lines, and usually if you have any hope of getting in it’s because you’ve reserved bottle service. But by some miracle, as a group of 8 girls we were able to get in after a short wait.

Koko is an absolutely gorgeous venue with pink lighting, chandeliers, two giant tents in the back that are lined by bottle service booths, and premium alcohol. Needless to say, it was an outing worth dressing up for.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’d have seen this Forever 21 dress that I’ve been obsessed with since the day I took it out of the package. It’s so vibrant and the high-low cut is great.

I picked up these Aldo does on Thursday before work…they’re comfortable and so stylish with small pops of neon lining that matched my dress.

I combined two colours of Essie nail polish on my nails and toes, Lilacism and Essie Lux Effects clear sparkly top coat. They make me feel so girly. Lipstick, just like last summer, is Backstage Bambi by Kat Von D.
We walked into the club and immediately made friends with a bachelor party from Toronto/Vancouver. They were awesome guys and the Goose and Moet were definitely free flowing. For an old lady who doesn’t drink, I held my own pretty well…until some woman decided to make hand gestures while holding a cigarette and burnt two little holes into my dress. That bitch.

The next day, on our way to the bus back to Ottawa, we stopped by the Lakeshore to take in the view, visit some cute little shops, and to have a bite. The weather wasn’t beautiful, but the view always is. I bought that scarf-print top the previous day at Simons, and my lipstick is from MAC’s new Sailor Collection line; the shade is ‘Sail La Vie”. It’s a very orangey coral colour. All matching clothing to lipstick on this trip was a total coincidence, I swear.

Moral of the story is: if you have good company, delicious food, and good shopping, the consequence will be GREAT TIMES. If you’re taking a mini vacation, you might as well still enjoy it to its fullest. We work hard, so let’s play harder.

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

