Ultimate S/S Bags

It’s been a while and I feel ashamed that I’ve taken so long to create a new post, but other than being busy, I’ve been uninspired. Although I think that there are some really amazing fashions for the spring and summer seasons, what I try to do is bring my readers fashions with reasonable price tags. So far, when it comes to handbags, it’s hard to not break the bank. It’s also hard to justify spending a lot of money on items that aren’t really worth much. I’m a hypocrite in saying that because last April I spent a ton of money on a Marc Jacobs snake embossed purse. I wear it to death, but to learn that it’s not even real leather really pisses me off! I’m all about making better decisions to get the bang for my buck while also representing the importance of quality. We have to find a happy medium!

Deux Lux, a brand I haven’t really heard of before, has popped up in major department stores like Nordstrom, and their styles are blowing me away. They seem to be pretty on-point with this year’s fashions, while also remaining relatively price-conscious. Clearly, my favourite would be the spiked Empire Hobo on the right. I love how it’s cream-coloured for spring, and how they chose to do gold spikes. It brings a certain warmth with an edge. I think that for PVC leather it’s pretty expensive, but the style is there and I’d definitely buy it.

I also really like the orange handle on the hobo bag on the left. It reminds me of my old camp days where we used to sit around making gimp bracelets. ‘Square’ was one of the hardest ones to do, so this square interwoven handle brings me back, and that orange is the IN colour for spring. I also think the chain messenger bag is a great piece for going out. The thin chains are so unique and remind me of that Tiffany bracelet they came out with almost a decade ago that had tons of little chains feeding into a heart.

Marc by Marc Jacobs always comes out with really fun colours for the warmer months. Sometimes I find they’re too much, but I think the 3 above are perfect examples of out-there but subdued colour. None of them hurt your eyes the way neon does (although it seems to be all the rage this season). These colours, in fact, remind me of earth tones with a kick. I love them!
Green
Rose
Tangerine

Posting these just made me realize how much I’m jumping on the orange bandwagon that I’ve hated on since Sephora announced that “tangerine tango” was the colour of these upcoming seasons. Seriously though, who looks good with orange on their eyes? Not me! But the Hamilton Bag from Michael Kors is a structured look that can do it all! I absolutely love it and I would totally rock out this tangerine colour while the sun shines.
Rebecca Minkoff implements the neon rage effectively into the straw beach bag in the middle. I like the subtle metal details on the straps and how such prominent patent straps make a straw tote look chic!
And finally, the striped bag on the left would probably make me feel like I was on the French Riviera if I were wearing it. Pour la Victoire has nailed the classy/nautical look with this amazing bag. I picture it with a navy or white maxi dress and some awesome chunky accessories.

I always save the best for last. The Diego Blue Alexander Wang bag in the middle is on my ‘Most Coveted’ list. The picture isn’t incredible but there are thick brass studs underneath the entire bag. I like the odd shape of it, and the colour is awesome! It’s amazing for any season, I think. Definitely a bank breaker, but if I had the money I’d rock these in every style and colour.
And since mint is just all over the place this season, treat yourself to a chic mint bowler bag or a cream alternative on the right (both from Zara).

With suggestions like these, you’ll be able to find the right look at any price range and with a vast colour palette.

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ultimate S/S Bags

  1. Annik says:

    All these bags are amazing! That striped bag is so European!

  2. Sarah icely says:

    looove the hobo bag with the orange, the chained tiny purse and the straw bag!

Leave a Reply

