Birthday Bliss: Round 23

For my 23rd celebration of life I had a change of mindset. Usually I make these huge parties or big get togethers where I get so drunk I whip my hair around so hard that people at the club get upset with me for hitting them with it(no lie). Not this year. With the new changes in my life, including a full-time job at a corporate law firm, my graduation, and my decision to make better choices (like going to the gym and not speaking to people who are toxic for me), I decided to have my mom come visit me in Ottawa for the day, and topped off my night with an intimate dinner with some close girlfriends. After hearing some harsh news from law schools that don’t want to admit me, I needed a day like this to ease my pain and wounded pride.

I don’t need to say this for my friends, but my birthday is really my favourite time of year.  Sometimes I get a bit uncomfortable when a lot of attention is focussed on me, but I really like to indulge when it comes to April 22. I think birthdays are important and the people who have been close to me know that I will always go out of my way to make sure I do my part in celebrating someone else’s fiesta. So, this year, instead of getting money like a self-supporting young adult usually would, I decided that I wanted more worthwhile gifts.

I didn’t ask for anything, though, and I got spoiled! I’ll have to look into the effectiveness of this strategy for future birthdays…

Avanti Le Spa

A gift certificate from my Grandmother to a trendy/gorgeous spa in Montreal that offers some really strange and unique treatments. Snails on my face? I’ll think about it. I absolutely love spa treatments, normally massages, because the spa is the most utopic place for a high-maintenance woman to spend the day. I think it was a semi-brilliant plan for my grandmother to lure me back to Montreal for a day, though.

Michael Kors

You know how they say if you’re unsure you want something, like a tattoo, you should wait a long while and if you still want it then you’re justified in getting it? That’s kind of how I feel about this watch. Admittedly, I don’t really know how to tell time very well. I feel like I missed out on a lot of things during my childhood schooling; like fractions, the time, and shows like the Fresh Prince and Full House.
Telling the time used to be an extremely foreign concept to me but over time I became more comfortable with it. Now it takes me about 20 seconds to establish the time on a watch, no lie. But… I absolutely love Michael Kors watches and for a long time now I’ve wanted one. I’m not sure when I first saw the one that I got, but I know I’ve wanted it for several months. I walked into the store, and lucky me (this never happens) but it was on SALE. At Michael Kors. Like when does this happen? So my mother and I took this as a sign and she bought me this Runway-sized watch. I adore it.

I’m not one for a big flashy watch, so I love the dark charcoal metal with contrasting rose-golden accents. Thanks mom!

Igal Dahan – The Cuffs of Love

See those giant hearts in the middle? My dad surprised me and sent those with my mom for me. They’re called The Cuffs of Love and they’ve been worn by artists and celebrities like the Kardashians, Sylvester Stallone, Paris Hilton, Snoop Dogg, and the list goes on. I’ve always wanted something to the effect of subtle little handcuffs, but kudos to my father for picking out a winner.

Then, I went to the Byward Market and bought some friendship bracelets while browsing through a few little kiosks. I bought these two and the second I came home, I added my own signature with some golden studs. DIY and friendship bracelets are all the rage this season, so, why not?

Food, Friends, and my Birthday Suit

Mimosa Studded Heels

Statement Necklace – Banana Republic
Leather Bustier Dress – Maurie & Eve

So what do you get for someone like me who spoils herself a lot? I didn’t even have a clue as to what to get myself this year. Luckily, my roommates know me well enough to know that I won’t spend my own money on the practical things I need, like luggage for a potential trip to Israel and Europe this summer. This big guy will definitely come in handy, thanks girls!

A small but perfect dinner at Murray St. Charcuterie with some amazing company.

And finally, age is just a number.

I’m 23 and FABULOUS.

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birthday Bliss: Round 23

  1. Caroline says:

    FABBBBBUUUUULOUS!!!

  2. sarah says:

    i took a break from reading to write I LOVE THAT WATCH! YOU DONT NEED AN EXCUSE TO OWN A WATCH THAT NICE IT IS BEAUTIFUL.

  3. sarah says:

    also i love that suitcase and your necklace.

Leave a Reply

