Sock bun Success

After having doubted my capabilities with my hair, I was finally motivated to try the sock bun, just to see how it would look. I had originally asked one of my roommates who’s super talented with anything hair-related if she could give it a whirl, but I couldn’t resist trying it on my own.

So what I did was took this long stretchy knee sock and cut the toe off. Then I rolled it into a doughnut. For girls who have fine/not a lot of hair, the sock bun is an amazing alternative to your regular up-do because you’ll know that the bun with be at least as big as the doughnut you roll your sock into. Which is pretty big to start with.

I found a perfect tutorial after the fact, but it’s not too long and gives a step-by-step guide to perfecting the sock bun. And it literally takes two minutes!

My first attempt came out actually MASSIVE because I have a ton of hair. I wasn’t satisfied with this because, unfortunately, I don’t live on a runway. So I tried again and again and eventually figured out that the beauty and perfection of the bun is directly correlated with how much hair you can tuck underneath the sock. So just when you think you’ve finished rolling your hair around it, try to tuck some more hair underneath and it will stay. I used one bobby pin for a small chunk of hair that wasn’t going with the flow.

Still huge, but as you can see, it looks perfectly rounded and pretty tightly tucked. What’s also funny is that since I only do partial highlights, the top of my head will look blonde, while the big bun is a bit browner. I think it looks kinda cool. For those of you who have a lot of hair, make sure the bun is sitting directly on top of your head as opposed to letting it hang down a little more. I went out for dinner that day and had floppy-bun syndrome. Wasn’t sexy.

I find that if I let a few hairs down in the front the bun looks a lot nicer for my face. It’s totally up to you ladies!

See what I mean about the brown/blonde contrast? I also picked up this fur collar at a vintage store at the Kensington Market in Toronto. What a steal for real fur, and I must say, it goes with a lot of things and adds that vintage look that I crave but can’t usually pull off. It gets easier as you go, and the bun is easier to manipulate when you have less hair than I do.

I hope you all try this and love it because it’s such a fast, easy, and chic hairdo. Depending where you go and what you’re doing, the suck bun is great for both casual and fancier events!

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

