What Not to Wear: The ‘Trends’ I Love to Hate

Sometimes I look at the people around me and just shake my head. ‘Where did you get that?’ I ask myself. I just can’t believe how people buy into certain trends without really reflecting on them. That being said, I make my own mistakes too. As human beings, we’re naturally more critical of others than we are of ourselves. We would sometimes let things slide for our benefit when we probably know that we’d be the first to criticize another for doing so. I’ll start with my faux- pas and then proceed to some items that really irk me.

Stila Bronzer – AKA – Orange

I had been saving up my Shopper’s Drugmart Optimum Points for such a long time, and finally, I was able to redeem about $175. I didn’t really know what to buy, but I figured I couldn’t go wrong spending on makeup and beauty products that fall a little bit out of my justifiable price range, namely, the Clinique skincare set that usually costs over $100. With that, I bought this Stila bronzer that I had the makeup ‘expert’ at Shopper’s pick out for my skin tone. This was during the summer when I was tanned, so, the orange powder was not terrible on my skin tone. Once I had lost my tan a bit, it soon became clear via natural light that this bronzer was a HUGE problem for me, and I was what I criticize other people for being: orange. I got into the car with my roommate and looked at my skin in natural daytime light; I was completely embarrassed and vowed to never wear the shade again.
So a tip, before you make any sort of investment in makeup, make sure you try it under neon/natural lighting, or you’ll embarrass yourself. The last thing you want to look like is this:  Speaking of which, I also hate when people do their makeup unevenly. Part of this has to do with the lighting they’re using, the other has to do with being thorough. Make sure that you don’t just stop applying your makeup where you think your face ends. You have to go under your jaw with foundation. Do you really want a contrast between your face and neck? You missed a spot.

Spending $500 on a ring that will give you an allergic reaction

For my 18th birthday I was hell-bent on getting a David Yurman ring from my dad. I had picked out that setting that he and his girlfriend were going to get me, and I was SO excited for them to come back from Arizona with my present. I rocked it every single day for about two years, and suddenly, my finger started to break out in this rash. I gave it a rest for a few months, and tried again. Suddenly, the rash was coming back faster, and it was intolerably itchy.

I loved this citrine and diamond ring, but I soon discovered that my skin was developing a reaction to the nickel plating of the silver. Apparently it’s very common for a lot of designers and jewellers to plate their silver in nickel for resistance and shine. Regardless, it would be a safe bet to inquire about that before making an investment in a silver piece. It’s disappointing to have problems with it in the future. I’ve never had issues with my Tiffany’s though.

If you have to say you look classy, you probably don’t

To me, there is nothing tackier than when a person is telling you about their outfit and how they’re going to accessorize is with big fake rhinestones that they hope to pass off as ‘classy’. My favourite line: “Yeah, I feel like I’ll just wear some studs, you know, keep it classy and simple”.
Sure, if you’re Audrey Hepburn and you want to pull off a black dress with real diamond earrings for a simple and classy Chanel-esque look, be my guest. If you can’t afford large diamond studs, which most of us cannot, don’t settle for the $5 rhinestones in hopes that they’ll have the same effect; they don’t. Rhinestones look fake, so instead, opt for Swarovski crystals if you’re trying to achieve a classic look. Swarovski is renowned for its quality, and also, their earrings are a lot better looking than the cheap cubic or rhinestone variety.

Coloured Extensions. Get rid of them.

If you think you look really fun, avant-garde, stylish, different, or any other annoying adjective to state that you’re different from everyone else by sticking weird chunks of colour in your hair, please stop. It looks terrible, trashy, and cheap. I’m not opposed to the ombre look at all, in fact, I quite like it but it has to be done professionally. In addition, some people will dye the ends of their hair a washed out pink or something. I think that’s okay, as long as it’s not blatant. Even mixing blonde and brown streaks can be tricky. It’s a safe bet to go all one colour or to make sure your highlights and lowlights are thin instead of thick pieces. Trust.

Opt for a more natural looking ombre look like Rachel’s Bilson’s rather than sticking funky looking clip-ins up in your do.

Patchwork – Leave it for the quilters

If you think these are cute, you are beyond help. Patchwork really does not look good on anything, not even on quilts really. Sometimes simple really is the way to go rather than placing different colours and prints together to make a monstrosity. NO!

Copies

Finally, I’d like to talk about the fake/imitation industry. Copies of high-fashion purses are a massive market and represent tons of illegal revenue. Definitely millions. Obviously it’s extremely difficult for anyone to justify spending 2 grand on a purse, so people resort to the back of people’s vans and cellars on Canal Street in New York or China Towns to find copies that come from largely Asian countries. I must say, sometimes I’m fooled. But by buying into these fakes, you are cheapening a brand that has established itself as a high point in a very competitive market; it’s disrespectful.

I find it so funny when I look at someone holding a ‘Louis Vuitton’ that is so clearly fake. The first tell is what else they’re wearing. If a person can afford a real Louis, it’s likely that the rest of their appearance/clothing choices will show quality as well. If someone holding a Louis Vuitton looks tattered and the purse is falling apart, chances are it’s a fake.

The same applies for Coach, a respected purse brand which is immensely copied because it might not cause immediate suspicion due to its accessible retail value.

You can just tell a lot of the time by the quality of the leather used. Fakes will obviously use fake leather and the colours will be a lot less rich. Also the seams will sometimes not match up and the stitching will be off. Also, people who go to Coach outlets to save on the brand aren’t really getting a bang for their buck either.
I’ve gotten some inside scoop from a friend who works at Coach, and the stuff at the outlet is specifically made for the outlet, and clearly, it’s poorer quality. Believe it or not, Coach uses the same leathers sometimes as industry leaders like Prada and Miu Miu. The only way to really get with the trend is to splurge on a purse at the store, and even then, the price range isn’t too bad.

Sometimes it’s really worth it to save up for something and do it right, rather than spending on a copy or a cheaper version of the trend. It’ll give you the credit you deserve.

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

