Spring Picks: Zara and BCBG

Trying to stay away from malls is not conducive to being a fashion blogger. Recently, however, I went to Toronto, and naturally I had to see what people consider to be the fashion/business epicentre of Canada had to offer. First stop was Yorkville, where the largest Holt Renfrew in Canada dominates Bloor St. Once I was comfortable, I decided to venture out on the side streets and through pathways to find little boutiques, and visit larger versions of my regular stores. While I was impressed with a lot, I was most impressed with the spring collections of both Zara and BCBG. You’ll see why.

Anyone who avidly reads this blog or knows my personal taste will understand why I’m so impressed with Zara for really appealing to punk chic in a classy way. Some people would normally say ‘studs are too much’ or ‘they’re not my style, but they suit you’, but I honestly think a normally conservative person could appreciate this studded collar silk top. I just got a full time job, so now I have to think about incorporating my style into office-appropriate outfits. I think this shirt and the one with the embellished collar at the top would be the perfect touch.

Not only are these two pieces perfect for some office couture, but they’re actually both studded! A lot of Zara’s spring collections classily incorporates studs into office wear and everyday wear. Conservative, but chic and different. I’m a fan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Greens are super ‘in’ for spring. I especially like this forest/jewel green blazer on the left, and I also really love the beaded skirt on the right. The skirt is very Club Monaco, but probably half the price of what one there would cost.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although I don’t know how a law firm would feel about these skirts, I really love their look. If you read my Florida post, you’ll see my skirt on the beach is similar to this one on the right. I love the dark khaki colour of the skirt above, and the off-white studded and frayed mini is really cute and versatile.

The embellished dress on the left is a really amazing cocktail dress, but I could also see it being paired with a blazer. It’s fancy, but not too fancy that you’d look completely ridiculous trying to casually rock it. The leather fringed skirt on the right, however, is a different story. This skirt is bangin’ for a night out. I’d personally pair it with a body suit and some sick black wedges.

I love the leather and studded mocassin-looking short boots on the left. They’d be unreal paired up with some jeans for the spring. The wedges in the middle are actually one of the better looking pairs of shoes I’ve seen Zara come out with in a while. Not only are they office appropriate, but fabulous for spring and summer. The flat studded sandals in the front are amazing because maybe our toes aren’t quite reading for spring yet, but the look is fun.

I fell in love with the bag on the left the minute I walked into Zara. Not only does it remind me of the Alexander Wang bag I’ve been wanting for a few months (it’s $800 and clearly unaffordable) but it’s also a great shape and the studs around the strap don’t go overboard. I love the Native-looking messenger bag in the middle because it’s really fresh and creative but not typically Native in colour scheme. The shopper on the right is an excellent choice for school or work in that it could probably hold a laptop and a bunch of books pretty well, not to mention it’s gorgeous.

And finally, to garnish these spring outfits…BCBG accessories! To me, BCBG just keeps getting better as they go. This better continue!

Snake print, seed beads, pyramid studs, and gold embellishment…what could be better to brighten up an outfit than these spring accessories? I’m going to attack these stores once there’s a sale.

What are some of your favourite pieces? Would you wear any of these, or are they still a little bit far-out for typically conservative style?

To see these pieces, visit BCBG or Zara in stores and online!

CP

Toronto swag… colourful and bright for spring!

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Picks: Zara and BCBG

  1. sarah says:

    you know i love that studded collar zara top!!

Leave a Reply

