Outfit Post: Florida

Making a trip to the US is refreshing for more reasons than the fact that it’s warm and sunny, and a break from the everyday routine. It’s a reminder that somewhere in the world, people actually get dressed up to do things like go to the beach, go shopping, see family, etc. In Ottawa, I don’t even dress up for work. It’s usually some yoga pants, boots that’ll keep my feet warm, and my giant Canada Goose.

In the Florida suburb of Boca Raton, people don’t leave their houses unless they look cute. In my case, I take advantage of the fact that there’s sun, heat, an opportunity to dress up a little bit, and to wear my favourite wedges and espadrilles. I especially wanted to look good because I knew I’d want to create this outfit post for people to see that you can still go to dinner, the beach, and the mall, and look amazing for a lot less than you would anticipate these clothes cost.

Outfit 1: Hit the beach on the first day in this all lace Forever 21 maxi dress. I wore a black skirt under it because I like the look where it’s half sheer and half opaque. I love the way the neck dips down, it was such a great find. Shoes in the first picture are my favourite wedges from Aldo.

Outfit 2: I am in love with these skirts. Some can be a little skimpy in front, and then long and flowy in the back. I opted for a knee-length skirt from Forever 21 in sheer fabric. These skirts are popping up everywhere in new spring collections so, if you like this look, keep your eyes peeled. Top is a snake print bustier tank from Aritzia.

Outfit 3: Surprise surprise, this dress is also from Forever 21, from the Love 21 contemporary line. There are rhinestones sewn onto it, and I have to say, for something white (a shade I never really wear), this was actually a good call. The dress could not have been more than $35 and it’s really quite gorgeous for the price. I picked up these velvet wine-coloured Jessica Simpson shoes at DSW while I was there, and they were something like $40. Incredible deal. They have a chunky high heel and are super comfortable, too. Feather clutch from Zara.

Outfit 4: I wouldn’t normally post a bathing suit shot, but I’m so excited about this incredible find. I didn’t even try it on at the store because I was already sold on the colour and I figured it would just work out. I actually felt very Marilyn Monroe in this suit, and I really don’t think it looks half bad on. I found it at TJ Maxx, for those of you who don’t speak USA, it’s the equivalent of a Winners but SO much better.

Outfit 5: on the way to the beach my mom and grandmother were taking their sweet time getting ready in the morning, so I took a trip over to a store to return a dress I had bought but then rethought, so I walked into TJ Maxx and picked up this beach cover-up which features a jewelled deep-v and sheer animal print fabric. For $16, I’ll take it. The wedges are from Steve Madden.

It’s not really my style to price myself out, but I wanted to share these amazing finds with everyone. I ended up getting tons of compliments on each of my outfits, and I’m really proud to say that I really didn’t splurge on any of the items featured above.

Moral of the story: you can look chic and do it on a budget; you just have to put in the time.

Nursing a sunburn,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outfit Post: Florida

  1. sarah says:

    uuuughh i agree with the never dressing up at home, lately when i wear pants that aren’t lululemons i feel out of place haha

Leave a Reply

