Make a Statement

I’ve been holding off on this blog post for a while because I’ve been so busy this week with a charity event, which I’ll be blogging about in March. It’s a good thing I waited though, because I keep finding some amazing statement pieces online. And where does this statement come from, you ask? Your neck.

Some people just don’t realize what a really amazing necklace could do to spice up or accentuate an outfit. I have my jewelry that I wear every day of my life, however, I reserve my neck for change. Each day deserves a new necklace, a new piece on which people can focus, and a new way to make an everyday outfit that much more interesting. So why call it a statement necklace? Because you’re asserting your own boldness with the accessory choices you make. I chose to show some of the following statement pieces because they’re unique and fashion-forward!

Neon is popping up absolutely everywhere this season. Although the Tom Binns necklace in the middle is not this season’s own, it’s the perfect example of where the neon fashion’s been taken from and how it’s exploded throughout the upcoming spring collections. I love the hand-painted neon splash on the pricey middle necklace with Swarovski crystals, and I also love the Alyssa Norton neon silk string intertwined with rhinestones on the left. A much less expensive version of the two can be seen on the right, from Forever 21. If you want to get the look, Forever 21 looks as if it’s onto the neon trend, and the colours are featured in a few of their newest accessories online.

Lots of detail on these necklaces here. I love the multi-strand and the different coloured metals on the Giles and Brother chain necklace on the left. The Valentino piece of artwork in the middle is so glamorous and could really be the focal point of any outfit. The Tasha necklace features interlocked rings and rhinestones, and is the perfect statement piece for someone looking to keep it casual but bold. It could act as a collar for a high-necked shirt, or a great necklace for a strapless dress.

Lots of chains and the chain mail look keep popping up in the accessory section of multiple sites. The interlocked and layered nature of these chains really add a certain spunk, while the still plain nature of the necklaces above doesn’t overpower.
Left: Nastygal
Middle: Forever 21
Right: Forever 21

BCBG is killing it with their accessories this season. They’re following the neon trend with the Vine necklace on the left, while the elegant but bold multi chain fashion is shown  in the middle. What a piece! Again, if you were wearing a strapless LBD or something that could use some serious jazzing up, this necklace for the neck of shoulders is a bold and beautiful statement. And finally, the gorgeous statement piece on the right with red stones and intricate design can be worn as one serious collar or a beautiful piece against your skin. Kudos BCBG, you haven’t ceased to impress me this past year.

HOLY HARDWARE. I was perusing through idontlikemondays.com last night and came across these statement necklaces by BOND HARDWARE. This takes using household items far fashion to an entirely new level. Who would have thought that the exact lock I have on my door could be used as a necklace? Or the hitch ring you may have on your car? Check out the Bond Hardware page if you’re liking this swag as much as I am.

Surprisingly enough, I’m pretty impressed with Forever 21’s accessory selection this season. They’re imitating a lot of the statement trends used by high fashion designers, and some of the stuff actually looks pretty expensive. The two outer necklace are both Forever 21. I especially like the one on the left because of the way the twisted ribbon holds the beading and rhinestones. It’s a little bit nautical, but really cute. How could you go wrong for that price anyway? The chunky cream stones on the necklace on the right are very modern and make me think of pairing it with a bold coral or royal blue top. The Nakamol Design collar in the middle is really cool because of the intricate beading pattern of the very commanding piece.

I just bought this really cool piece from Forever 21 the other night before work, and I have to say, it was a really good buy for $18. Got a lot of compliments, and I think the blue stones really make the necklace unique.

So which are your favourites? I have to admit I’m never usually blown away, but the Bond Hardware really makes my creative juices flow. I’m definitely going to be more vigilant around the house in the future. You never know, right?

Stay bold,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Make a Statement

  1. Rebecca Minaj says:

    That lock necklace is ILL. However, it is borderline weird, something like that antler necklace you have.

    ❤ good post

Leave a comment