Back to Biker Chic

Wanna look chic without looking like you just stepped off your Harley? I’ve found some really amazing pieces online that, paired with plainer clothing, would provide that biker chic look we all know and crave.

Idontlikemondays.com is an incredible new site I’ve come across for edgy clothing and accessories, such as the two outer pieces by Obesity and Speed. Although I don’t know what kind of name that is for a clothing line, I really like their goods. The thin chains add a really nice touch to, otherwise plain, shorts or gloves. I really love the shorts, and they give me the urge to create my own pair with all this time I have on my hands now. The One Teaspoon Ballerina Leather Jacket was an instant obsession for me. Perfection.

Usually Michael Kors fashions are a little bit on the classy/more conservative side, but I find that he’s branching out a little bit with his Michael by Michael Kors line and dabbling  in the stud department. Although not totally biker, some his accessories and shoes give off that feel. And who’s complaining? The Hamilton Chain clutch on the left and the thong sandals on the right are perfect if you want to achieve this look. The BCBG rhinestone collar would also be really cute but chic on a high scoop neck shirt or dress.

Studded boots and booties are an incredible addition to a simple outfit. They’re also good for every season but summer. The two outer shoes are Michael by Michael Kors Rock n’ Roll. I especially love the low boots/high tops. Those studded high boots, however, are fierce for a night out. The studded boots in the middle are available from Browns online.

Studs not your thing? Try the leopard print pony hair leather jacket from ASOS. What a gorgeous alternative to a plain leather jacket. Complete any spring/summer/fall look with a pair of the lightning bolt hot pants from Top Shop and you’re set. And finally, for the cold months, the studded peacoat from Bess NYC is a perfect way to assert your inner biker chick in the cold.

First let’s draw our attention to the One Teaspoon Goldrush bodysuit in the middle. It’s so beautiful with its sequin and bead detail. Although it doesn’t translate to biker right away, paired with an all black outfit, you’ll no doubt look edgy and fashion forward. On the right, the studded Gypsy skirt from One Teaspoon is also a great piece on its own. I also really like the Stolen Girlfriends Club dress, which is casual, but I like the smoke print.

Now, depending on your degree of biker chic, you’ll find one of these pairs of boots suitable for your style. Personally, I really like the Mimosa short boots in the middle because of the chain and leather detail. You don’t see that too often and I think they’re really well done. If you want to go more raw than that, there’s another pair of Mimosas on the left with safety pin and stud detail. Finally, if you’re simple but like the look of a leather lace-up boot, you’ll go with the pair on the right from Browns. My roommate has these ones, but she has midget feet and we can’t share.

What are your favourite pieces here? I’d love to hear what people feel is the acceptable level of biker chic, and of course, from those who just don’t care and want to stand out!

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

