The Best and Worst of the 2012 Golden Globes

Wow. Some of the greatest fashion I’ve ever seen was encompassed in this year’s Golden Globes. It seems that the stars have really upped the ante for one another this year, and as always, the high fashion designers have delivered gowns to be remembered. I might add that the men weren’t too badly dressed either in their satin-finished lapels.

My Top Three

Salma Hayek in metallic and black Gucci

This dress completely blew my mind. I’m in love with the bold metallic beading and the corset to mermaid shape. Definitely #1 on my love list.

Lea Michele in silver metallic Marchesa

Oh my God. In Glee she’s the homely Jewish girl, but on the Red Carpet she’s a bomb waiting to explode. I can’t believe that Leah Michele would pick such a daring dress for the Golden Globes, but I commend her for it immensely. I also love the emerald green accent of her ring against the metallic silver.

Reese Witherspoon: The Lady in a Crimson Zac Posen Gown

A winner in my eyes is this red gown with a plunging sweetheart neckline. Reese is really lucky about her proportions and the ability to pull off this dress that accentuates her tiny waistline but bodacious hips. It fits her like a glove…a really expensive one.

The Worst Three

Kelly Osbourne in a blue monstrosity

Whatever this is had a good amount of potential…but the fabric and fit is horrendous. Judging by this picture, it almost looks like this dress was made out of super thick cotton…the lines and folds are absolutely terrible, but I think the silhouette would have worked in a different fabric and in a deeper blue. I love the shoulders, but this dress was definitely an epic fail.

Sarah Michelle Gellar- sky blue with ink splatter.

Ok…I would have been on board with the ink splatter if this had been a t-shirt or a long sleeve…maybe even a shift dress, but I am SO NOT down with the shape, style, and fit of this dress. I had high hopes for Sarah Michelle because of this past season of Ringer, where she was immaculately dressed in every single episode. But I am deeply discouraged  by this dress. I like ink splatter…it would probably look nice on a painting in my bathroom.

Amanda Peet- Wedding Cake.

No I’m kidding… the tiers on a wedding cake actually look more delectable than this number. I don’t know what some designers’ obsession with tiers is, but it really has to stop. It flatters no one, not even the skinniest or shapeliest of women. It looks like you layered pouffy skirt on top of pouffy skirt, and added some straps for good measure. Giant No.

Honourable Mention

Despite the upper body burst, I really love this Reem Acra dress. A favourite of mine is always an integration of different fabrics and colours that work well with one another, and I think that the metallic and tourmaline green pairing is unreal. Kudos Madonna, now put those puppies back in their cage.

Evan Rachel Wood is a beauty, and this dress is no less stunning. I’m obsessed with graduating feather detail, but I am no fan of the halter. Gucci’s sequin to feather detail is absolutely stunning, though.

Magnificent Elle in a Zac Posen gown. This dress is perfect and I love the flowing silk finish of the pale bustier.

Emma Stone is ravishing in deep purple and crimson Lanvin. It appears the low plunge is really in, and the eagle belt is a nice touch on a classy dress. To top it off, the shoulders are unbelievable and the colour flatters her pale skin.

Charlize Theron is such a beauty, she could wear a paper bag and look like a rocket. Again we’re seeing the pale pink and the deep plunge in the neckline, and I love the beaded/diamond hair accessory that accents the Dior dress.

Finally, a dress that speaks volumes to me is this deep red that Dianna Agron opted to wear to the Globes. I really like a lot of detail when it’s done right, and the cutouts, beading, and the fiery look of the dress leave a remarkable impression on me. This dress is odd, but unforgettable.

Oh, and we can’t forget Ricky Gervais…

Nice suit bro, this is what I’m talking about.

Dreaming about fame,

CP

 

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best and Worst of the 2012 Golden Globes

  1. Fantastic post , Chelsea ! Joining you in the dream after this one..
    And alert me when you find Reese Witherspoon’s dress in my size .. and price range !

  2. Pingback: GUCCI: Dark Glamour | chelseaswag

Leave a Reply

