Just Blaze

Haha. It’s not what it sounds like. Lately my time has been so consumed by numerous errands, law school applications, cleaning, travelling from Ottawa to Montreal, but most of all, by reading “The Hunger Games”. I’ve been completely sucked into the world which is this book that I haven’t really made much time for anything else. I just finished the second book, “Catching Fire,” and all that I dream about these days is me replacing Katniss Everdeen in the games, especially in the fashion portion. In the book, they often refer to her as the “girl on fire” in tribute to the first outfit she debuted in for the entire world’s first impression of her. Well, although looking like you’ve caught fire isn’t really fashionable in our world, everyone could use something to make them feel like they’re blazing. My latest purchases have been blazers of different shapes, fits, colours, and details. They just add such a put-together look to any outfit.

Lapels that contrast with the colour of the blazer just get me. It’s such a nice look, and the blazer is really the main focal point of the entire outfit. A black and white contrast reminds me of the tuxedo look, and I especially like the one on the left because of how the lapels keep going and fold out again as they drop. It’s something different. The blazer in the middle just screams at me. I love the royal blue and black contrast because it looks really sharp. The cropped cream coloured blazer on the right is nice because the contrast is not as commanding, and therefore, allows for other details to shine through in an outfit.

Blazers that are more embellished can really be the main event when it comes to your outfit. The LOVE21 sheer/sequin blazer on the left is what I made my roommate pick up on a recent trip to Montreal. She wasn’t so sure about it on the hanger, but once I made her try it on, it hit her that with this $22 number she could really spice up any outfit. I ordered it for myself online the following week. The Warehouse metallic blazer in the middle is for the girl unafraid to blaze in metallic shades. This all around pewter blazer is such a great piece. Finally, the cage-cutout blazer from Nasty Gal is the epitome of “business in the front, party in the back.” From the front it’s just a normal black boyfriend blazer, but from the back, it’s a sultry way to wear a piece that normally covers a lot of skin.

Coral is a great colour for a blazer if you’re looking to liven up an outfit. Usually I stick to black and darker colours, but lately I’m forcing myself to diversify…so I turn to reds and rich colours alike. The coral and black blazer from Nasty Gal makes a great fitted blazer for a more professional setting or even a night out. The LOVE21 cropped satin trim blazer that I’m wearing and that’s also on the right is great because it isn’t cropped too short, and it can still be paired with prints. In the middle I am wearing this blazer with a snake print bustier tank from Aritzia and a nice leather/chain link/leopard faux horsehair print bag from Mango.

Some more casual alternatives include the sweater blazer with elbow patches on the left, the flowy waterfall blazer in the middle (which can be fancied up or dressed down), and the fine line blazer on the right which inadvertently creates a slightly nautical look.

Slow down…Go…Stop! I didn’t even mean for this to happen, but these are some great colours for that casual but still put-together look. These blazers are so versatile that you can pair them with just about anything, but they will completely transform the outfit. I recently bought a similar mustard coloured one to the blazer on the left, and I really like the green shade in the middle. Red is always a colour I’m drawn to, so naturally I bought the blazer on the right. Forever 21 is just banging out some fantastic ones this season.

Want a traditional black blazer? The satin lapels on the left add a nice touch to classic black. The white blazer in the middle really catches my eye because of the gold buttons that make the jacket look a lot like a uniform. I love the look and I really like the outfit and colours it’s paired with here. Finally, I had to include this peachy-pink oversized boyfriend blazer with polka dot detailing inside and on the rolled up sleeves. It reminds me of a darker-skinned friend of mine that makes this colour look acceptable against her complexion. You would never catch me dead in a baby pink blazer, but somehow she makes it work and pairs it with cute skirts and Mary Jane heels.

Ivory and cream seem to be very up and coming this Winter season. And why not? It feels like at some point during every Winter, I hear girls saying that they want to look “Winter White” in what they wear. Blazers are the perfect way to do so. The cream with little puffed sleeves on the left is nice and casual with its relaxed fit, while the ivory one on the right is more fitted and fancy. I don’t trust myself with things this white, so I would normally steer clear of this trend. The scenic print ASOS blazer in the middle reminds me of a fabric my mom once bought to upholster a chair or make curtains, but somehow, I find the print charming on a boyfriend blazer. Lose the matching bloomers, though, and opt for plain cream-coloured shorts or a skirt.

So if  you’re looking for a new blazer, this Winter is the season to get it…be blazing even though it’s cold out!

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

