The Makings of Formal

My sorority’s Formal was just this past Tuesday, and I have to say, I was rather impressed with some of the looks that my ‘sisters’ came up with. In particular, however, I love that some people are turning to my blog for guidance as to what to wear to these types of events. I’ve been receiving a lot of positive feedback lately about my blog, and this feedback only encourages me to push forward and provide more for my readers. I love that some of my posts manifest into real life around me. What I mean by that is people take my suggestions and either go out and buy the clothes or products featured on ‘chelseaswag’, or they take ideas from it. Regardless, I am flattered and I want to show some appreciation for those people who have bookmarked my blog on their Internet browsers and who refer to my suggestions in everyday life. Thank you to my friends and strangers who support me!

Marika definitely does not have to be told how to dress. She has impeccable taste and has wowed everybody around her with avant-garde dress choices for Formals and Semi-formals alike. She always looks so properly put together, polished, and she is all-around beautiful. When I came out with my ‘OMFG BCBG‘ post, it appeared that Marika and I were on the same page. The dress she picked was not even in stores yet, but I had found it on the Internet and decided to include the floor-length peacock print gown in my post. Marika fell in love with this dress and absolutely needed to have it for Formal. Needless to say, it looks better on her than on the mannequin featured on BCBG’s website.
There’s something about real girls…I just don’t know what it is…

Through a little bit of creeping, I found out where her necklace can be purchased. It’s such a beautiful statement piece, and it’s handmade on a loom right here in Ontario from Beaded Jewellery byΒ Darka.

Janelle’s beautiful blue floor-length dress is also a throwback from BCBG…what can I say? BCBG gets it right every time.

My dress is from BCBG as well, and I had included it in the same ‘OMFG BCBG’ post. It was the first dress, and I have to be a little proud and say I think it also looks better on a girl with curves rather than the model wearing it. Yes, she’s thin, but she doesn’t fill out the dress in the right places…and me, well, I guess you can see for yourselves. Even though the dress is very elegant and plain by itself, I felt that I had to accessorize it. I chose a blush-coloured feather clutch and a golden cuff with screw/cage detail, both from ASOS. The tassel earrings are $6 from H&M.

Some other beauties to highlight. Steph is wearing a white gown from BCBG and Katie is wearing a black with fabric-rose detail bodycon dress from Zara.

If there’s a party crasher, it’s pretty much your obligation to show him how it’s done…

Swag.

Finally, my amazing date who is not only good-looking, but a good friend. A tip for the boys, the skinny tie is awesome!

I would like to also make it known that Sephora has an amazing system when it comes to makeup application. You buy a gift card for $50, book an appointment, and they do your makeup for you. You can then spend the gift card at your leisure on anything in the store.

The artists tailor the makeup they use to your skin type, your needs, the place or event you’re going to, etc… I showed my makeup artist a picture of a smokey eye, and she went all out. It’s an incredible system because they have excellent customer service; they explain what products they’re using, why you should use them for your specific needs, and they will make up samples for you to take home and try.

The whole makeup session takes about an hour, but it’s definitely worth it for those who are unsure about what makeup they should be wearing, or those who just want to have it professionally done!

Also, my Shellac has remained relatively intact for two weeks now.

Hope you enjoy these beauties and tips, and thank you for all the support,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Makings of Formal

  1. Janelle says:

    You can never go wrong with BCBG! And as I said at Formal, you looked beautiful in your dress!

  2. Amy Chessell says:

    great post chels!!! you looked so great!
    love you
    Amy

  3. Rachel says:

    My girl!
    Another lovely blog post
    ❀ all the best
    πŸ™‚

  4. Haley Pentek says:

    As always, you hit the nail right on the head for everything Formal. Stunning photo choices and such a great write up chels – I especially love how you touched not only on dress selection but even the smaller details such as your dates wear and makeup.

    Love you and cant wait for the next!

  5. Katie Taylor says:

    amazing post chels :)And you looked stunning in that dress.

  6. Carr says:

    i think it’s time i get my marketing ass together and get you some ad$ for this website of yours. You’re basically selling their products

  7. you’re a beauty Chels and looked absolutely stunning at formal !
    Definitely have to step up my game next formal to keep up !

  8. Wow that was an honour! Thank you so much for bringing it to my attention though, seriously!
    Great post. Darka will appreciate the shout out too! πŸ™‚

  9. AnnaKay says:

    you guys looked amazing…and agreed…Marika could stop traffic anywhere in the world πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

