Shellac Attack

I’m the girl who walks around with chipped nails all the time because I can’t hold a manicure. Literally, my nails will chip the day I get them done, so much so that I cannot remember how long ago I gave up on paying to have my nails professionally polished. It’s just not worth it.

Last Tuesday when I was in Montreal, I went to Yafa Salon in St. Laurent to have my eyebrows threaded, and I saw they had this new Shellac by CND. I was told by my mother that it was incredible and so chip resistant that once people tried it they’d never look back. Naturally, I had to try it.

So what is it? I asked the manicurist. She told me it was a type of plastic that contained no formaldehyde, the unhealthy chemical in nail polishes and hair dyes. This almost-plastic goes on like nail polish, but then hardens under UV lighting or heat lamps. It’s so responsive to light, in fact, that it has to be kept in opaque bottles just to avoid exposure to the sun through the salon’s windows. Once it hardens, a top coat is applied, and the manicurist rubs your nails with alcohol to remove any residue and boost the shine. That’s it. You can use your cell phone, unzip your wallet, and touch anything immediately! So for the girl who chips her nails as soon as the polish goes on, Shellac gives me a much harder time…and I love it.

Did I mention they can do Shellac the same as a French manicure? Yep, the tips and all. The Shellac grows out with the nail, so depending on how fast your nails grow, you will start seeing some of the nail bed after approximately two weeks. Mine are about 5 days strong. There are also some sparkly versions of Shellac available too.

For anyone in Ottawa interested, apparently Nice One Nails does Shellac. It’s worth paying a little extra for a manicure that stays MUCH longer and stronger.

Enjoy,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shellac Attack

  1. Haley Pentek says:

    How long do they say it lasts? I want to get mine done like this before I go to Arizona but dont know when I should do it!

Leave a Reply

