Sequinned Swag

In a lot of my posts there is usually something sequinned, not only because I love things that sparkle, but because it seems that a sequinned bomb has gone off in all the fashionable stores. Some people may find this trend a bit much at times, but it reminds me of the 90’s, when I would see a lot of my friends’ older sisters going to their high school proms in sequinned two-piece gowns, or wearing those elastic tube tops that were covered in just sequins. All I know is that ever since I was young I loved this trend, and for me, it never left.

These days I’m very into long dresses, so naturally I would pick the first two for myself. I love the detailing on both, but the cape dress in the middle completely gets me. It looks very Roman/Grecian, I find.
Left
Middle
Right

These are all very different in shape, colour, and detailing. I personally love the golden colour of the Zara blazer in the middle, but I would prefer the uniquely shaped lapels of the blazer from Nastygal on the left. I also adore the blazer on the right because it’s not too much; it only has sequinned sleeves while the rest is solid black and nicely cut.

These shoes remind me of the holidays so much. I could definitely see someone wearing the heels on the left and right for Christmas parties or formal social gatherings, while the Converse shoe in the middle is just a fun twist to the original Converse model. The only thing for me would be the questionable comfort of both high-heeled shoes because there is absolutely no platform in the front…a luxury I’ve clearly gotten used to.

An absolute favourite of mine is this bird print, whether it be the MiuMiu sequinned swallows in the middle, or the sequinned bird shorts from ASOS. These looks are super classy and are also a change from clothing that’s completely sequin-covered. I love that MiuMiu dress because of the black/gold contrast, and because it’s an edgier spin on their past bird-printed line. The Marianna skirt from Club Monaco is also a really elegant way to wear sequins that doesn’t over-do it.

Can you spot the $4,000 dress? It’s the Matthew Williamson one in the middle, available at ssense.com. Even their website doesn’t do this dress justice, the sequin detail is so intricate, the colours completely pop against each other, and I would literally be afraid to wear this dress. It’s stunning! I adore the French Connection Playsuit on the left, and I really love the scalloped detailing on the Lipsy dress on the right.

Jewel tones are very ‘in’ this season, so match that with sequins and you’re set. The dress on the left from BCBG is really stunning, while still conservative. The sleeve detailing on the ASOS dress in the middle is what I like to see, while the sequins on the Topshop dress on the right are very different, if you zoom in. They’re all different shapes and sizes and colours, but they bring about an overall  fantastic look.

The patchwork on this top from Nastygal is awesome to me because of the bright colours. It’s so different from what I would usually wear, but at the same time, would be a fresh addition to an habitually black wardrobe. The two tops in the middle and on the right are both available at ASOS, but I particularly like the polka-dot sequins on the crop-top because it’s a different way to do polka dots, which are also a trend for this season. Marc Jacobs is all over it, and has dotted so many of his clothes and accessories.

There are so many alternatives out there in stores, and virtually any place you walk into (or any online shop) will have a lot to choose from. Find the way you want to sparkle, because everyone could use something sequinned in their lives!

Sparklin’ even in black,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sequinned Swag

  1. michystock says:

    k 1) i want that matthew williamson dress BUY ME PLZ wheres the blackfriday sale on that one!!
    2) the first long maxi dress thats sequined on top, AMAZING.
    3) boyfriend blazer sequin. soo sick.
    4) love ur ideas u inspire meeee

    xoxoxo

  2. Thanks on creating one of the most stylish blogs I have come across in a long time! It’s truly incredible how much you are able to take away from some thing simply because of how aesthetically gorgeous it is. Youve created a fantastic be site fantastic graphics , structure. site!
    my blog is about family vacation spots.

Leave a Reply

