11.11.11.- Today My Wish Came True (BESS NYC)

For months now I have been waiting and wishing for BESS NYC to finally move on from the dark ages and create an online website for their store. Well friends, today is that day. BESS is probably one of the brands I find myself most attracted to because everything is studded. And when I mean everything, I mean they go hard.

I stumbled across this brand in a fashion magazine a while ago, and ever since then, I was determined to get my hands on something BESS. I had been to NYC this past May, but I think I only discovered the brand after my trip. By consequence, I had to send two friends looking for the store to find me something reasonably priced that I would like. Well, much to my surprise, the least expensive studded item they have is their jeans. They go for about $165, and usually feature studded pockets. You can tell that all of these are done by hand rather than mass produced because of the way the studs are placed. That also might be why the price of most of their items is so steep.

My two friends both wondered why I had sent them to that store upon their arrival. “It looks like a dungeon,” they said. Well, they brought me back a kick-ass pair of jeans from that dungeon, and one even ventured to get a pair for herself.
Yeah, that good.

     

Rappers and singers go insane for BESS. Both Chris Brown and Jay-Z opted for BESS’s studded vests for their performances. Lil’ Wayne has also worn their customized shoes to his shows, and Olivia Wilde and Gisele have both promoted this brand (seen below).

Products available online include some of these creations, and more!

The Batwing Calfskin Clutch!!! Enough said. These pieces are so fierce and amazing, I especially like the use of feathers and leather for the jean/purse clip.

Who wouldn’t kill for these? Among the most studded and vintage-inspired pieces they have, they are the most expensive…but for good reason. Imagine how many hours it must take to apply each stud.

Originally, BESS was a jewelry brand. The piece in the middle is 18kt white gold with diamonds. Now do you see why I’m obsessed?

These are my pair- ripped black jeans, studded front and back pocket. Thank you Aliza and Lara for all the time you put into picking these!

I hope this brand gets more recognition from the average shopper rather than its celebrity fan base. It’s an amazing store with a concept and craftsmanship all of its own.

To view more, visit their new website here. You will definitely want to visit the dungeon.

Swag=Studs,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11.11.11.- Today My Wish Came True (BESS NYC)

  1. michystock says:

    love those boots and that leather jacket i wantttttt

  2. Lara Samuels says:

    haha “the dungeon”! great article

Leave a Reply

