Trick? No. We’re all treats.

The only people who relish the thought of Halloween more than the girls who go through insane amounts of primping are the guys who get to see the final product. Halloween has been the designated “dress yourself like a baby prostitute” holiday ever since Mean Girls came out. Yeah ok, so we were younger when that movie came out, even possibly too young to really enjoy the full thrust of this holiday. But ever since the movie declared that it was acceptable to wear the least amount of clothing possible, girls have been all over lingerie stores and costume warehouses picking out the outfits that are most likely to illicit a WOW instead of a scare. Scary costumes are so passé.

So what are we to do? Well, makeshift costumes are always good because they showcase our craftiness, but what about buying those costumes that just hit it bang on? Sure, if you have 100 bucks to spend for each of the 4 nights that you’ll be partying (obvy). Chances are that you’ll want to invest in one costume that speaks for itself, and you will probably have to settle for making the rest with what you’ve already got. I went to a Halloween store with my roommate and we picked out some hot costumes that definitely conformed to the new definition of Halloween for University kids.

Silver Spectre, a character from the movie Watchmen, was certainly a hit. I only tried on this costume because she made me, and it was definitely an awesome call on her part. Forgive the blurriness, but when all else fails, we take Blackberry selfies.

Now when it comes to makeshift, another one of my roommates really did an incredible job. Although the headdress is store bought, she bedazzled it in her own way, and she cut her entire outfit from a faux-suede piece of fabric, beaded it, and attached fur to the pockets of her jean shorts. She also made fringes on her shirt and attached more to her boots. Also, note the other makeshift costumes in the picture…Bush or Obama? I don’t even wanna know if they don’t look like this.

Silver Spectre, Chief of our Tribe, and a Beer garden girl- three pretty great costumes.

Even Cruella DeVille didn’t come out of a bag, but the costume is incredible!
I think that although we look pretty sexy, we’re still not wearing lingerie to the bar…which is totally okay too.

For a mixer, I opted to be a ballerina instead of Nicki Minaj. I really tried, but seriously, there’s no resemblance between she and I but our swag.

I used some “whorelashes,” as Jenna Marbles describes them, to add to the outfit.

For my ballerina outfit, I used a bustier top that I had gotten a while ago at Urban Outfitters, and a cute skirt that I bought at Bebe in Vegas. I also wore some House of Holland garter-printed tights to add some badness to my ballerina.

Finally, I needed to dress up for work. On the left is my Will Ferrell themed costume. I chose to do the Will from Blades of Glory, so I wore this faux-fur Ushanka because I thought it was actually just funny, like Will. I also wore a bodysuit and some blue glittery tights from American Apparel to finish off the figure skating look. The next night I decided to go as a Dominatrix because I found this hat that I once took from somebody at camp…weird. I wore a leather skirt and the House of Holland tights from ASOS, lace-up knee-high boots from Browns, and a La Vie en Rose corset…the whip is also for jokes.

I used to really enjoy Halloween and this year made me realize how much I miss it…but being older now, we can represent the new form of this holiday in all its glamour and sexiness…just no cat fights okay? We’re all pretty until we get drinks poured on our faces.

xo,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

