The Best at-home Haircare

I get a lot of questions as to how I keep my hair super long, but healthy looking at the same time. Firstly, I barely ever straighten it, never blow dry, and rarely curl (all strictly due to laziness), but these are actually the things that damage your hair. There are products that can be used to protect your locks from the heat, if you so choose. I also make sure to use amazing moisturizing shampoos and conditioners. The best thing you can do for your hair to minimize breakage is to make sure it never goes dry and brittle. But, are even the good shampoos and conditioners good enough?

I have tried every shampoo and conditioner under the sun, it seems, because I go through a regular sized bottle in about a week or two. I always like to try new ones to see what works better, and I try to stay in the under $10 range. What I like best, however, seems to always be Sheer Blonde by John Frieda, which also comes in brunette and red-head variations. These usually sell for about $11 in stores like Shoppers/Pharmaprix, but go on sale about every two weeks, so stock up when you can!

These products are amazing and come in all sorts of variations for your hair’s specific needs.

Another great brand for hair products, but a bank-breaker, is Frederic Fekkai. His products are pretty famous; that’s because they work. They use a lot of Shea butter, which infuses the hair, and a lot of the products are very thick-feeling. Unfortunately, they will run you up about $30 per product, so I don’t really buy this and I stick with the John Frieda Shampoos.

   

For ultra moisture, however, this is where you should go before spending at the salon!

But the really miraculous hair products have not yet been mentioned. At the end of the day, it doesn’t really matter what I wash my hair with, rather, what I do when I get out of the shower. I take my hair out of the towel it’s wrapped in, and I lather in a serum in order to help me brush it out better. But that’s definitely not the only value of using serums like MoroccanOil or Biosilk. These products penetrate each strand of hair and infuse it with proteins (Argan oil and silk protein, respectively) in order to make the hair stronger, shinier, and AMAZING! I kid you not, I have alternating between using both these products for almost three years now and the results are incredible.

Biosilk, as I said, is made up of silk proteins and leaves a light scent when applied to wet hair. It can usually be found at pharmacies, but usually costs about $20 for a small bottle. I have found bigger bottles at Winners and Nordstrom’s Rack in the States for a lot less. This product eases brushing out wet hair, while also strengthening strands and ends. With a normal amount of hair, you only usually need a drop to rub between your hands and throughout the hair (not at the roots, because that would look greasy). For thick or really dry hair, a few drops can be used.

The same process goes for MoroccanOil, a product which has virtually blown up in hair salons around the world. MoroccanOil is actually derived from Argan oil, which is produced by extracting oil from the nuts of the Argan tree. These trees are pretty limited and are found in the Berber areas of Morocco.

Argan oil can be used for skin, hair, and cooking. Its uses have been widely known in Morocco forever, but with the expansion of this product, the Argan trees are now somewhat endangered; hence, the price per bottle. The incredible scent of this product cannot be attributed to the actual oil/nut, but it’s actually incredible-smelling. Being half Moroccan, I am proud to see such a coveted product come out of my mother’s home country. It may be hard to justify spending about $40 a bottle, but this product really works and can probably last close to a year for someone using a dollop after every shower.

                                          

These alternatives can be found at Trade Secrets, or salons near you. They work very much like the aforementioned products, and they’re a bit cheaper. Macadamia oil uses a blend of Macadamia oil and Argan oil, while Marrakesh oil uses a mixture of both Hemp and Argan oils. All of these are good and can be used in the same ways mentioned above. Make sure to apply them to wet hair, and if your hair seems really dry, apply only a tiny bit to the ends for some shine.

I literally swear by these protects and can definitely attest to the fact that they work. They will keep/make hair strong, add shine, and reduce the look of split or dead ends. If you cannot find these products on sale, it might still be worth it to spend the money because a bottle will last a long time.

Whippin’ my shiny hair back and forth,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Best at-home Haircare

  1. Janelle says:

    Thanks for the tips CP! Definitely trying out Moroccan Oil.

Leave a Reply

