Stars & Skulls

So I’ve been noticing a trend in this Fall’s fashion, and the forecast calls for a very starry season.

I first noticed this a while back when little stars started making their way onto shirts and accessories, but now we are having a full blown epidemic of star printed, studded, cutout, and star-covered clothing. I don’t know how I feel about the epidemic, but I think catching it in small doses can’t really hurt. After all, I have found some very cute pieces that use stars as both subtle and obvious prints.

Another thing that will be very big this seasons is the skull. I personally love skulls, and I find it impossible not to think about the late Alexander McQueen every time I see a really well done skull print or detail. McQueen was a genius and really branded the skull as his own. Although these skulls aren’t seen much in his clothing, McQueen, and now Sarah Burton, ensure that skulls are laid into accessories like boots, clutches, and scarves. McQueen’s designs are expensive, but there are a lot of alternatives that look just as bad-ass.  I promise!

Firstly, this mega star is wearing a star and sequin embellished dress by Dolce and Gabbana, who have been adorning their new collection with stars by the hundreds. This photo graced the cover of the September issue of In Style, but I have a feeling that D&G’s dedication to stars this season will definitely trickle down into Fall fashion, and fast.

The bag on the left is by Dolce & Gabbana. I love the shape of this bag, including the fact that it’s black and gold, as well as the handle on the top, and of course, the star-embellished strap. I don’t find that this purse is too much, and I would definitely wear something starry like this with a more subtle outfit.

The tank in the middle is by Mango, and also uses black, gold, and sequins to make a sparkly top starry, as well. I think it is beautiful, and could definitely see wearing this on a night out.

Usually I post things that I would wear on this blog, however, I don’t really think I would wear these Aldo shoes. The shape of the shoe is really nice, and I can see that there is a concealed platform, which I like, but I find that the stars are way too prominent and I think that I would feel like a clown wearing these. Maybe I would if the stars were more subdued.

         Left: ASOS sweater with star patch detail on the elbows. Elbow patches have been popping up everywhere this season, and I like how the stars are incorporated here. You see a lot of people with stars tattooed on their elbows, and I think it’s nice to play that up in a shirt that doesn’t resemble tattoos at all. 

Middle: House of Harlow starburst earring with black onyx stone. Although this isn’t the traditional way a star is supposed to look, it achieves the same vibe with a different twist.

Right: Markus Lupfer mini-dress uses tiny little star studs at the top of the dress for detail that makes you really focus to realize that these studs are actually star-shaped. The cut of the dress is really flattering and can be worn in various ways, and the star detailing is subtle enough that a more overpowering accessory can be worn.

Left: ASOS star-print playsuit

Middle: Jovonista star-sequined dress from ASOS

Right: Sheer star-printed tights

And now onto the skulls…


             

Left: King Baby is known for its use of edgy skulls, crosses, and gothic symbols in jewelry. This bracelet combines Lapis lazuli beads with a silver skull, and best of all, is unisex!

Right: Woven bracelet by Links of London, uses skull beads for a very different-looking friendship bracelet.

                        

   

                                                                   

Left: This purse by Ameko uses tinyskull studs across the width of the bag to downplay the edginess of the skulls but add some flare to a plain-looking bag.

Right: This bracelet combines the elegance of pearls with a tough-looking golden skull for an amazing contrast, available here and featured in In Style magazine!

Silver Dagger, a company stationed within Florida, has made its way into the fashion industry by combining quality materials with unparalleled designs. I am proud to say that my uncle and aunt are the pioneers of such a company that uses Swarovski crystals, metals, and real leather to embellish their garments that are sure to provide a unique product for the retail world.

                           

The skull is definitely at the forefront for this company, and you can be sure that these Swarovski crystals and other gems will not fail to ensure the design and quality that other brands cannot compete with. To shop these looks for men and women, visit their retail site here. And watch out, soon their line of premium vodka will be taking over the alcohol industry as well!

Finally, the most important designer in the fashion industry for me: Alexander McQueen!
His designs are often imitated but will never ever be duplicated because I have never seen truer or edgier artistry in my life!

Eat your hearts out, and invest in some stars n’ skulls,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

