Fur or Faux

I know it’s been a while since I’ve last blogged, but I’ve been seriously lacking inspiration. It’s that between-season time of year, and all I can think about is when the real Fall fashion lines will hit stores, and where I will hide so my bank account doesn’t suffer!
That being said, I went on a nice getaway for a week and looked through various fashion magazines to mentally prepare myself for what is soon to come.

I found myself most attracted to fur. Now, before you assume that I’m an animal-loving good person, I need to come out with it; I love fur. Real fur. If you gave me the option I would choose genuine rabbit, raccoon, or any fur over the faux stuff. I understand that this does not make me animal rights friendly, but it makes me couture friendly for sure. Luckily for the more politically correct and conscious, there are many faux fur alternatives out there that really look genuine, cost less, and keep your morals in check.

Fall and Winter are the perfect seasons to sport fur and faux accessories, jackets and coats, foxtails, shoes with fur trim and embellishment, and handbags that are guaranteed to be so eye-catching that someone will cross the street to ask you where you got that piece.

Let me first say that I would kill for these heels, not only because I love Alexander Wang as a designer, but also because of my current obsession with foxtails…the two together are just mind blowing!

Another late designer, whom I respect and adore, is Yves St. Laurent. He was a fashion genius, and I personally love his recent shoe collections where the bottom is squared off and the obvious platform is integral to the shoe’s unique look. The brand uses genuine fur to give this bootie some extra style and sophistication.

Foxtails are an excellent accessory for these seasons because of their versatility. You can clip them to shorts, jeans, and purses to jazz up any outfit. I have even seen some men sporting the foxtail on their back belt loops.

These foxtails are genuine fur, dyed to fit any person’s style or outfit. Leather detailing can be purchased along with the foxtails here at Dollskill.com

A faux version can be purchased at Aldo Accessories here. For my Ottawa peeps, you can find the real deal at NORML boutique on Rideau.

These two bags use faux fur trim and detail for an animal friendly alternative…I personally am in love with the one on the left because of the black fantasy fur and gold detailing. Both bags are available at Aldo stores or online. The bag on the right is also available in taupe.

Left: Michael by Michael Kors jacket with faux fur collar.
Middle: Mackage fur collar coat…the collar is so chic and glamorous looking.
Right: Bagatelle faux fur trim open vest, a beautiful way to wear faux fur!

This Elizabeth & James genuine ostrich feather blazer speaks volumes to me. The detailing is unreal, and it would be sure to turn any simple outfit into couture upon wearing it.

Left: faux fur collar, an amazing addition to a sweater or jacket for the cold seasons.

Right: Fantasy fur earmuffs, also available at ASOS. A great alternative to a hat or headband.

Finally, at a whopping $13,000, this Balmain 100% genuine fur jacket is a show-stopping piece for the Fall. The shape of the fur perfectly accentuates the body’s curves while not overwhelming its shape. What an incredible fashion item! I am positive that a lot of faux fur alternatives to this jacket will be seen in the coming Fall and Winter collections.

Until then, choose real or faux fur to stay warm and look fabulous,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fur or Faux

  1. Rachel says:

    You and your real fur!! I have to admit those YSL boots are gorgeous, even I would buy those if my finances would let me xx

Leave a Reply

