Hardcore Headgear

Ever have those days when you get out of bed and just can’t fathom going out with the way your hair looks? Well, I am notoriously lazy when it comes to doing my hair, so for the days that it doesn’t cooperate, I lay down the law with hats, headbands, and just about anything that will add a chic look to my outfit that makes not-so-put-together hair look like you had a fashion-forward plan down all along.

I, for one, am a fan of fitted flat-brimmed hats and headbands that go straight across the forehead for that gypsy look. It so happens that the latter are incredibly in-season for upcoming Fall/Winter collections and are available at all price ranges, and in many styles that are likely to turn heads at the girl who rocks them right.

Last Fall, Givenchy came out with a headband that some girls would have bent over backwards to be able to own. At the extremely costly price of $500.00, however, the majority of the population couldn’t justify breaking the bank for an accessory like a headband. This prompted a lot of “do it yourself” websites and blogs that demonstrated how the right black headband and a few studs could make you look like you were on Givenchy’s runway.

An alternative to taking the time to do it yourself (or spending the equivalent of rent on this spiked headband) is seen on the right; available at Nastygal online. It is more discreet than the Givenchy version, and still a definite eye-catcher.

Another headband that has caught my eye happens to be on the man I love, Lil’ Wayne. Yes, I can’t believe that I’ve written 9 posts without mentioning my love for this dude. But #10 surely will show that Lil’ Wayne can be a style icon too. In my eyes, he’s the pioneer of Swag.

In his recent music video called “John” with Rick Ross, Lil’ Wayne rocked the Vivienne Westwood CHAOS headband from her Chaos Point line…which is actually available nowhere to my dismay. I love how Wayne rocks this piece so casually in this video while letting his dreads hang loose.

Another great look for Fall is the modern version of the turban. There are variations of it available everywhere in all sorts of colours and fabrics.

This turban, which can also double as a hat for the Fall or Winter, can be best worn with messy-looking curly hair for a more bohemian look. Because of the thick knitted acrylic, it will stay on the head better than a thinner version, such as my own from Urban Outfitters.

If the turban look is too much for you, opt for the headwrap version that goes around the head and lets your hair poke out on top.

Both Floral and Cheetah Print headwraps (and my own) can be found at Forever 21 online and in-store for ridiculously cheap (under $5)! They are versatile enough to wear with all sorts of outfits and looks, from girlie to badass. My personal favourite comes in this Fall’s very fashionable royal blue and is available online here.

This colour would look incredible on anyone and would make blue eyes absolutely pop!

Finally, for those bold ladies who would rock a faux-fur headpiece, this Paul Smith headband will be sure to keep your head warm while bringing you up to fashionista status.

So for those days when you want to accessorize like a celebrity, turn to these alternatives for an original look that differs from the tuque or beanie.

Happy headgear hunting,

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hardcore Headgear

  1. lorenromei says:

    hahaha i love all the head gear immensely and of course in perfect chelsea fashion you threw in a little bit of wayne! xo

  2. Ashley says:

    gonna go get me some hcore headgear for surrreee love this post

  3. Lise says:

    Actually, as the manager of the Worlds End Westwood Shop on Kings Road, I can tell you for a FACT we have been making and are still selling the Chaos headbands for 40 quid!

Leave a Reply

