The Blonds

Phillipe and David Blond have revolutionized the way pop stars have been dressing for concerts, photo shoots, and any event where an over-the-top outfit is in order. They are responsible for designs that you could only imagine on artists like Lady Gaga, Rihanna, Katy Perry, Beyonce, and more.

These fierce ladies, and sometimes men, turn to The Blonds for outrageous bodices that put comfort on the back burner and insane style on the forefront. Materials usually used are spikes and studs, a lot of metal and metallic colours, intricate beading, and just about anything else. The sky is the limit for The Blonds- and for the people who choose to wear these bold designs.

Although we aren’t always sure which designer is behind which design- you have surely seen these designs for MAC Viva Glam, in films, and of course, up close and personal at the wildest pop concerts out there.

Both Fergie and Nicki Minaj are musical powerhouses that have worn designs by The Blonds. They have both been endorsed by MAC cosmetics for signature lip colors. While Fergie usually rocks something more hardcore, Nicki opts for the super-hero pink look.

There is a leading lady in my life and she goes by Gaga. Known for her over-the-top (understatement) fashion, she often turns to the Blonds to achieve this type of embellished look which incorporates handcuffs and spikes. One of her more subtle outfits, for sure.

Not only does she look like a rocket in this outfit, Katy Perry would more often prefer to clothe herself in candied out ensembles than something this edgy. I, for one, am absolutely in love with this piece and would wear it to prance around in my room while I take selfies and blast “Circle the Drain” one of my favourite songs of hers. I love how the sparkling corset ends in a matte black studded bottom for contrast!

Although Rihanna is most known for her music, she has more recently been known for her fashion sense which usually features revealing dresses by Jean Paul Gaultier. In concert, however, Rihanna always brings it with outfits by The Blonds. I absolutely love the eye patch because I love pirates to start with, but the leather, chains, and spikes just completely do it for me. Apparently chains and whips excite her, too.

Finally, one that more of you may recognize from Sex and the City 2, is Samantha’s more subtle Blonds couture. When I saw the movie I literally died when I first glanced at this dress. I love the spiky epaulettes, which contribute an artillery-like look to a sexy red dress. She completely rocks it, and although you could poke someone’s eye out if they stand to close- I would wear this out any day.

So which Blonds piece of artwork would you prefer if you could be a pop star for a day? I am conflicted between the Katy Perry and Rihanna ones. Or all of them.

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

