Fashion Down Under

I have recently noticed that I’ve been drawn to a lot of brands that come from Australia and its surrounding areas. For some reason the Aussies understand edge, but they do so with prices that don’t consider the constraints of a student budget-especially when you tack on the shipping. I find myself drooling over these beautiful studded creations, including pieces that involve classy implementations of leather, beading, spikes, and overall, a lot of spunk.

It’s been a while now that I’ve been almost obsessed with an Australian brand called One Teaspoon, available at Holt Renfrew and a more recently discovered boutique called Editorial in Montreal. The brand is also available via the web at asos, an online shopping haven based out of the UK.

Dresses like the one below really speak to me. The leather is subtle but sexy, and the bustier top of the dress allows for a reasonably scandalous lingerie-type look.

This leather bandeau tutu dress can be found now on asos, but even at half price it still costs an arm and a leg.
Even the model looks angry about this.

If you find black and leather combined a bit much for your own personal taste, One Teaspoon also caters to those who want to achieve a more girly look, while still using well-set, quality materials.

                                                   Slightly more content in cream.

Another brand that has really torn at my heart strings is Maurie & Eve; a brand that I stumbled upon during a short visit to Montreal with a few friends. We were trying to find one friend some “slutty dresses for Vegas,” and these two dresses found me- I just couldn’t let go!

Maxi dresses are really in this Summer, but I often feel that my style is never reflected well in Spring/Summer lines. I much prefer Fall/Winter fashion- so naturally when I saw this dress I literally almost collapsed because it combines the style of my favourite seasons with Summer wearability. Although Maurie & Eve gets pricey like the aforementioned One Teaspoon, I got the dress above for a steal!

Maurie & Eve, I find, often combine black and gold for a sophisticated edge.

Clothing by these designers is sold online at revolveclothing.com and other sites.
Please also visit Abe & Mary’s store and outlet on Jean Talon in Montreal to take advantage of these Australian designs brought to Canada.

And for the grand finale, I am proud to say that I now share something in common with Katy Perry other than my utter infatuation with her husband, Russell Brand.

Although she opted for her signature brights, my version is black leather on black cotton, and the buckles are black leather with gold hardware. Also a steal, might I add.

(Photo taken from revolveclothing.com’s blog)

I never said that Australia was high up on my list of places to visit- but now I am starting to reconsider.

CP

About ChelseaSwag

I have recently completed my Criminology degree with a concentration in law and a minor in psychology at Carleton University in Ottawa. The past three years that I have spent away from my home in Montreal have only reconfirmed my ever-longing desire to become involved in the fashion industry in some way. Although there are a lot of fashion blogs out there, I have to first say that my own style will really resonate with the girls who are always looking to stand out- more so on a student budget. Different relatives and family members involved in the fashion industry have surrounded and shaped my love for fashion throughout my lifetime, however, none are quite so edgy as myself. I hope to enlighten the ladies that are looking to add a little extra oomph to their appearance, while also reflecting their own personal taste. But remember, swag is not only what you wear- it's a lifestyle. CP
This entry was posted in Roll Call. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fashion Down Under

  1. sarah says:

    loooove the leather bustier dress

  2. Aliza says:

    Love the creammm dress. want want want.

    great post!

  3. Rachel says:

    that cream dress is beautiful, I might have to look that one up and see if it is available over here in the UK, and if my pathetic budget would allow it. Good work Chels! x

  4. lorenromei says:

    CUTE! I could totally see you in ANY of these outfits! They definitely have edge and swag just like you 🙂

  5. Whitney says:

    Loving the blog Chels, especially since it’s more personalized than other fashion sites that only report on trends. Your style is very unique and I’m glad you’re sharing it with the world! Can’t wait to read more!

  6. Danielle says:

    Another great Australian brand with EXTREMELY reasonable prices (and I mean REASONABLE) is Cotton On.
    Although not yet available in Canada, our southern neighbors already have a few stores!
    Check it out! http://www.cottonon.com/us

Leave a Reply

